Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: online ground school

Default online ground school

hey every one. i am new to all of this.. I have been wanting to get my private pilots licens for as longs as i can remember and now it is time. i hav been lookin at online ground schools so i can get that out of the way befor i leave to arizona for the flight school.. i have been lookin at gleim, kings and sportys.. i was just wondering if anyone has used these or what you would reccomend.. thanks

RMK

Default Here a hint...you can do it free

I took ground school courtesy of the Anchorage School District way back when. I'll assume you're older than that, so here's another tip at a freebie. If you're in Anchorage, the Loussac Library usually has the King videos available for check out. If you're somewhere else, check your local library.

I have watched some of the King stuff, and it seems pretty concise, and delivered in a manner to keep it interesting. I've watched their IFR stuff and liked it. I think John and Martha King posses every rating under the sun, so they know their stuff.

I haven't watched many of Sporty's videos, but they seem like they are quite proud of everything they sell.

Default Sporty's and King

I used the computer CDs from Sporty's and also had some of the older King video tapes. Both had their good points. The King tapes were were probably a little more entertaining while Sporty's might have been a little more detailed. Both had their weak areas also. Having both was nice because having two different approaches to each subject gave me a better understanding of the subject. I did well on the written, so I guess they worked fine. I don't think you will go wrong with either of them.
    Good Luck,
    Patrick

thanks alot guys.... i got the wifes OK to get my licens this november so i am pretty pumped.. its the only time i can get off work so i thought i better do it somwhere with nice weather so i can fly every day..