Thread: Black ball while anchoring

Default Black ball while anchoring

I am new to bigger power boats, and am setting up my new boat (30'). I haven't heard much said, or haven't seen many boats with the black anchor ball required to be displayed while day anchoring. Where do you mount this ball? Do you have to hoist it? Where? How? I've seen the collapsable one from West Marine, but don't know where to put it.

I understand there is a difference between busy places such as the two coasts, but in a remote anchorage in, say, PWS, are people using them? If the regs say you are supposed to, how is the CG, or State, handling that, if you don't have one? Thanks.

I have never heard of such a thing, nor seen one out in the Sound. If I saw one I wouldn't have a clue as to what it meant anyways. I turn on my anchor light and call it good once the anchor is set for the night.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

I think you are referring to the USCG rules of the road, and there are many different signals. If I remember correctly those are "day shapes." Your vessel is too small, I think the minimum requirement for this black ball is 65'( there are some other factors, but I don't remember what they are). It's been a while since a took my 100 ton class, but I'm pretty sure it's right. I hope that helps.
    Boatless

Default 50 meters or less

First of all if your in an area with little to no traffic you shouldn't worry about displaying anything. A all around white light at night mught be a good idea for peace of mind and "just in case"

Unless you anchor near a narrow channel, fairway or where other vessels normally navigate I wouldn't worry about the ball or the USCG.

FishFace is basically correct!

Look up NAV RULE # 30.
    Might I suggest a Nav rules Book for your new Boat.
    Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.

Quote Originally Posted by spoiled one View Post