Thread: Last ditch fox effort - tips?

Default Last ditch fox effort - tips?

I thought fox season was all over, but looking at the hunting regs I've still got until March 15th if I head up to Unit 13. That being the case, I think I'll give it another go later this week since our foray down to Homer has been put on hold. I'm still new to this calling gig. I blew like mad on my mouth call earlier this season and managed to coax a coyote in, but nothing since then.

Any fox-specific tips? I've got a handful of areas that have lots of hare activity and some fox tracks as well. How do I coax the little canines in?

Brian,

If it were me? I wouldn't even attempt it...This time of year their fur isn't the best. The last three we have seen have certainly left something to
    be desired and were left for next year.
    "In the interest of protecting my privacy I will no longer be accepting Private Messages generated from this site and if you email me, it better be good!"

Really? Huh. I wouldn't have expected that fur quality would start to suffer until mid-April.

Default go for it

whats it gonna hurt....hair should be ok in 13....i hung a coyote in 14 last week and the hair was better than the one i hung earlier...most canines are getting twitter-pated this time of year so keep that in mind....
    "early to bed, early to rise, fish like hell, and make up lies"

Default Fox