Thread: Kodiak spring bear results

Default Kodiak spring bear results

Just looked at the drawing results for the 2010 Spring Kodiak hunts and found it ironic that of the 53 permits listed only 5 were Alaska Residents.
    http://www.wildlife.alaska.gov/permi...iak_unit23.pdf

Post Random...

Organized "random" drawing to favor the economic value of out of staters I believe is at play...I'm sure numbers would show that there are more non-residents putting in for those hunts but not to the point of these drawing numbers...Bull elk hunts in some units in Arizona were having similar results for some draws...those were due to trophy units being saturated by Outfitters/Guides putting in for clients...AZ nipped that in the butt by limiting the percentage of nonresidents that got drawn...Outfitters/Guides didn't like it much...I felt it made sense, a perk of being a resident I say...

AZinAK

I think this is because most spring 2010 resident hunt were drawn in the previous draw. I know what I applied for in December was spring 2011 kodiak hunts. All because ADF&G changed the draw time frame yet again.

All the hunts listed for is drawing are non-resident hunts, check the supplement. Of course more non residents applied, they are all n on resident hunts with a registered guide. Evidently the four from Alaska have not yet met residency requirments.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill S. View Post
    All the hunts listed for is drawing are non-resident hunts, check the supplement. Of course more non residents applied, they are all n on resident hunts with a registered guide. Evidently the four from Alaska have not yet met residency requirments.
    That would make more sense - the title of the list threw me off - it says nothing about Non Resident or Resident it simply reads "The Spring 2010 Kodiak & Unit 23 Brown Bear Winners List is now available. (PDF file 12 K)" That added to the fact therew was a few Alaska addresses.

Thanks for the clarification