Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long of a drive - Anchorage to Haul Road Caribou?

Default How long of a drive - Anchorage to Haul Road Caribou?

How long does it take one to drive all the way up from anchorage to hunt Caribou on the Haul road?

18 to 20 hours......

From Anchorage to cold foot you can do it in 12 hours.
    Anigun pass from cold foot about 2 hours.
    from there to Dead horse the end of the road a couple hours. almost 300 miles.
    Living the Alaskan Dream
    Gary Keller
    Anchorage, AK

Does one need to go to Deadhorse? How far do you typically have to go to get into Caribou? I'm moving to Anchorage in May, never been up there before so just trying to get a feel for what kind of distance I'm in for. I'd like to try and do a bow hunt in late July or August. And yes I'm getting my bow hunter ed certification.

I guess I am a slow driver; too much road hunting or sight seeing. .

Mossyhorn; I would recommend doing a search in the forum on the haul road archery hunts. There's a lot of information within the forum.
    You do not need to go all the way to Deadhorse; anywhere within the Dalton archery corridor (north of the Yukon river to Deadhorse) there could be caribou; they will be moving around.

july and aug I'd be focusing more on the north side though...

The problem with caribou is they are where they are and that can change in a hurry. You'll never see an animal walk faster then a caribou, no not even elk. (dont forget that when you are shooting at one LOL).

You COULD get into caribou in july or aug just north of the pass...likely they'll be up by slope mt or franklin bluffs, which is another 2 or 3 hours north of the pass depending on road conditions, maybe less, maybe more.

Quote Originally Posted by mossyhorn View Post
    How long does it take one to drive all the way up from anchorage to hunt Caribou on the Haul road?