Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Winchester M70 classic stainless or Savage FSS16?

Question Winchester M70 classic stainless or Savage FSS16?

Hey all!

I planning to buy a 30.06 hunting rifle, mainly for hunting elk under extreme weather conditions.

I have 2 rifles in mind, which one should I get?
    I have no experience with Winchester so far, only Savage and I really love their out of the box accuracy:

1. Winchester M70 classic stainless 30.06
    2. Savage 16FSS stainless 30.06

Winchester M70 rifles are no longer produced, I know that's because of FN and Browning, could it be difficult to get replacement parts in the future?

What about Winchester's accuracy w/o any "gun smithing", same as Savage?

What about reliability when it comes to rain, snow and mud?
    Are there any sources these 2 rifles were tested under these extreme conditions?

As i already told I'm a Winchester newbie, what should I look at when buying a Winchester? I heard of BOSS and pre64 systems, but really have no idea what this is all about.

I would greatly appreciate any input.

Thanks so much,
    Matt.

Default Either one

Either one will work, the Winchester likely has a smoother action. I own two Savages, and they are both like gravel crushers.

Personally, if you are looking for an '06, I'd get a Kimber Montana in .308 or 300 short mag. You'd likely end up with a rifle/scope/sling combo that is under 7 lbs.

Default I've got and use...

a Model 70 Classic/stainless .300 Winchester Mag, and love the thing. I doubt that it'll bust before I quit using it. There's no doubt in my mind, either, that if I chose to down the road, the thing will have appreciated in value over what I paid for the thing. If nothing else, put the Model 70 in the safe, and get the Savage to use.

Default the upside of the Savage