Thread: .454 loads and other questions.

Default .454 loads and other questions.

I'm a newb to reloading and I have a couple questions. The first is in regards to finding a starting point for a reasonably controllable 454 load using a 345 grn. Cast Lyman boolit. I currently have lil gun, 2400, and no. 9 powders. I'm just curious as to how the folks here like to load this type of bullet.

Also, does anyone know a local place that sells .460 brass? They are out at Boondocks, which is where I try to do most of my shopping.

Quote Originally Posted by sthrcave View Post
    I'm a newb to reloading and I have a couple questions. The first is in regards to finding a starting point for a reasonably controllable 454 load using a 345 grn. Cast Lyman boolit. I currently have lil gun, 2400, and no. 9 powders. I'm just curious as to how the folks here like to load this type of bullet.

Also, does anyone know a local place that sells .460 brass? They are out at Boondocks, which is where I try to do most of my shopping.
    I haven't worked up any 454 loads yet, so I can't help you there, unless you want me to go through some of my manuals and give you some starting loads.

As for 460 brass - welcome to the struggle. I have some on backorder at Midway, they've been on backorder for months. I have a line on some brass from a shop here in Wasilla though. He said he can get me 100 cases (lowest number available). I told him I'd see if I could find someone who wanted 50 to split the order with me. You interested? It's new starline brass. I'd have just ordered the 100 if I weren't so tight for cash. I already spent too much on guns and truck repairs, LOL. I can't remember the price for the brass, but the shop is always reasonable in terms of price.

In the mean time, if I can make it out to do some shooting today I'll scrounge up ten once-fired win cases you can have to get you started. I've only got a total of 35 cases myself.

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.