Thread: Need advice/recommendations for halibut

Default Need advice/recommendations for halibut

My friend Pat is headed to AK this summer, to Nilchik, to fish.
    My other friend, Ron, has stayed at Silver Buddah In Soldotna and fished.
    both want to take me fishing there. I have great friends!!

I lived in Fairbanks in the 1980's, I am just not much of a fisherman, I am a hunter..

Instead of going to the Kenai Pensula, I'd prefer to be in SE AK, Maybe Ketchikan or Wrangell area.

Any recommendation for Halibut and other opportunities in that area?

We are plannig on this summer (2010) I am a teacher so I have most of June through the 1st half of August available,

thanks,
    Doughnut

Quote Originally Posted by DoughNut View Post
    My friend Pat is headed to AK this summer, to Nilchik, to fish.
    My other friend, Ron, has stayed at Silver Buddah In Soldotna and fished.
    both want to take me fishing there. I have great friends!!

I lived in Fairbanks in the 1980's, I am just not much of a fisherman, I am a hunter..

Instead of going to the Kenai Pensula, I'd prefer to be in SE AK, Maybe Ketchikan or Wrangell area.

Any recommendation for Halibut and other opportunities in that area?

We are plannig on this summer (2010) I am a teacher so I have most of June through the 1st half of August available,

thanks,
    Doughnut

In SE I would recommend staying in Elfin Cove...fishing will be awesome...and nice little town on the water.