Thread: anybody know a good place to go hunting?

Default anybody know a good place to go hunting?

it's been too long since i been out on a great alaska hunting adventure. i am in for several permits in the drawing, but my work will start again as soon as this snow melts. i am looking for a place to go now.......to hunt just about anything. i'm in soldotna.....i have all the gear and THINK i have plenty of experience.........just need some good solid intell on where to go and for what that would be good right now.

my budget is less than 1,000 bucks, my time line is between now and about april 1st. please help if you can, if you have any ideas.

i need to get out in the woods and chase something-

Wink looks like bunnies for you

fit your price range and time frame.
    could probably do some predator calling up your way too.
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"
    http://www.alaskabackcountryhunters.org/

Might get a shot at Musk Ox in unit 22 for around your grand limit.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

i'm thinking bear, because it has been such a mild winter, to the south anyway. i know it is still a bit early yet.

i prefer hunting via air taxi. and, i always try to get a cabin. going by air reduces hunting pressure and makes for a better hunting experience for me personally. and a cabin is soooooooooo nice to get everything dry and keep warm.

i wouldn't mind hunting from the road this time of year, there not many people out. i do have snow machine, ect.

my budget might be..............1,500 or 2,000 but that's it. i can really go anywhere in the state. and i want to change my state of mind before the summer grind of work begins. thanks to you two for the suggestions i've so far-