Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Cell Coverage in Whittier

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    198

    Default Cell Coverage in Whittier

    Do AT&T cell phones work in Whittier? ACS does fine but I think they use a different system than AT&T.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member spoiled one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,230

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boater View Post
    Do AT&T cell phones work in Whittier? ACS does fine but I think they use a different system than AT&T.

    Thanks
    AT&T phones work in the town, but not out in the Sound.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

  3. #3
    Moderator Daveinthebush's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Valdez, Alaska
    Posts
    4,403

    Default Copper Valley

    I have Copper Valley and I can reach Valdez from the entrance at the light house. There are spots that don't work or have bad reception. I can even text from my bear stand out there if I hold the phone correctly and the wind is blowing right.

    Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    198

    Default Thanks

    I'm looking into getting an iPhone and just wanted to see if it would work where I play.

  5. #5
    Member chico99645's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Palmer
    Posts
    1,481

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boater View Post
    I'm looking into getting an iPhone and just wanted to see if it would work where I play.

    Boater,

    I got roped into an Iphone and switched from ACS to AT&T. I was lead to believe it would work everywhere I was planning on going. I regret every minute it. Once you leave Turnagain Arm you loose all reception until you get to Moose Pass or Cooper Landing and you only have it for a couple of miles. Spotty from Soldotna to Homer. You do have service in Kachemak Bay but once you pass Pogi Pt, you loose it. In Seward once you pass the bridge into town you have spotty reception until you get into town itself. Leave the harbor and you loose reception just before you get to Lowell Pt. With ACS I had reception up to Callisto and with an external antenna I had it every where in the bay. Never went into PWS with it. Can't wait until my contract is up and go back to ACS.

  6. #6
    Moderator Paul H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    5,594

    Default

    ACS coverage in the sound is pretty good. Even w/o an external antenna I've gotten reception on the S end of Culross island tucked behind Applegate, and in the lagoon at Disk Island. Even though our ACS bill has been getting bigger with the phones and blackberry we added, the coverage is very good.

  7. #7
    Member Alaska Gray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, United States
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    I hear At&T was suppose to a tower on Naked Island.. I assume that hasn't happen.
    For me, while in Whitter I loose reception at Pigot Point.
    Seward just a couple miles out of the harbour.
    Homer is another story. Usually a few mile from the green bouy I get reception. HOWEVER, When I go out side the bay sometimes I can recieve calls but not make them. Also I can recieve texts.
    Living the Alaskan Dream
    Gary Keller
    Anchorage, AK

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    198

    Default GCI Piggyback

    I'm told that if there is GCI service then an AT&T phone will work. I saw that first hand when I was in a village out of Kotzebue last week. My ACS phone was useless, the other guy had an iPhone and had good signal.

    When I look at the GCI coverage map, they are all over the place out in the rural areas. The map also indicates that they will be adding coverage in Chenega, Tatitlek, and Cordova this year. IF those 3 locations are indeed added, that may really open up PWS to phone service.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    271

    Default

    AT&T works fine around Cordova and out on the Copper River Delta as well. I got coverage around Whittier a couple miles out from the harbor. While in PWS it was spotty, but worked out by Hinchenbrook Entrance. I know ACS has better coverage for the sound as a whole, but AT&T wasn't too bad. Around Valdez I had to be in the Narrows before I got coverage.

  10. #10
    Member Larsenvega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    348

    Default

    I've carried my AT&T iPhone (personal) and AT&T BlackBerry (work) on just about every trip I've done out of Whittier in the past seasons, and have noticed that I cannot maintain a signal on either phone once making my way past Pigot Point. If you draw a straight line from Pigot Point to Decision Point, you will have a very good idea of the limit of AT&T's range in PWS. The only other spot I've gotten reception in the western portion of PWS was deep in Blackstone Bay. I'm most positive that signal was simply bouncing over the mountain from Whittier. While it is a bit sad that we don't get reception on the water, I have to admit, it is quite nice to really "get away from it all". Remember, you've always got the trusty VHF in case of an emergency. I personally don't like getting work calls when fishing anyways. Oh, and I won't miss the wonderful nagging of the wife from a hundred miles away either...

  11. #11
    Forum Admin Brian M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Eagle River, AK
    Posts
    13,397

    Default

    On ACS there are pockets. The best reception on ACS when out in the Sound is straight out in front of Main Bay, and you can generally get reception out towards the north tip of Knight Island. Other than that, though, reception is spotty at best. So yes, you do lose reception past Pigot, but you can get it back in front of Main Bay if you're a ways offshore.

  12. #12

    Default

    How about Verizon?

  13. #13
    Member Larsenvega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Verizon operates off of AT&T towers up here in AK.

  14. #14
    Member spoiled one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,230

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Larsenvega View Post
    Verizon operates off of AT&T towers up here in AK.
    I don't believe that is correct. AT&T has a GSM network while Verizon is CDMA, right? I believe they piggy back off of ACS.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

  15. #15
    Member breausaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    830

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spoiled one View Post
    I don't believe that is correct. AT&T has a GSM network while Verizon is CDMA, right? I believe they piggy back off of ACS.
    Thats right, ACS uses Verizon but there is no Verizon service up here. Figuer that one out.... When you travel your ACS service uses Verizon.
    Jay
    07 C-Dory 25 Cruiser
    OurPlayground.


  16. #16
    Member Larsenvega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Oops, I stand corrected!

  17. #17
    Member spoiled one's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,230

    Default

    My sister works for Verizon corporate, in Missoula, and uses it up here without issues. Packages down there are much cheaper.

    My ACS phone gets signal in most areas of the Sound if I am plugged into my external antenna. The external antenna port is going to be a thing of the past in the very new future. If we are going to want our signal boosted, we will have to use a wireless booster/antenna combo.
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

  18. #18

    Default Cell phone appetizer

    I threw away my table top popper and just use my cell phone around Whittier:

    http://bit.ly/97xQQl

    I have no idea how this is done,

  19. #19
    Member jrogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    1,539

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pontiac-chief-51 View Post
    I threw away my table top popper and just use my cell phone around Whittier:

    http://bit.ly/97xQQl

    I have no idea how this is done,

    Looks to me like it is a hoax...

    http://gawker.com/395434/whos-trying...es-pop-popcorn
    2009 Seawolf 31'
    www.seawolfmarine.com
    Fully Loaded

  20. #20
    Member Larsenvega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Dang, that's messed up! I'm adding this to my list of things to try...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •