Thread: New Vise

Default New Vise

I have been tying flies for 3 years now, and I think I probably need to get a new vise. The one I have been using all this time is a $20 vise from Fred Meyer, and I cannot stand using it anymore. Anything over about a size 4 will slip because it cannot grip it good enough, and anything under about 16 is impossible to tie, too. I have never used a rotary vise, so I dont know tf that is the way to go. Anyone have any reccommendations on a good quality vise that is not a pain to work on? Preffered features would be:
    Able to hold sizes varying from 20 to 2/0
    Good clamping power
    Under ~$150
    Any help is greatly appreciated.

A good buddy of mine got a Renzetti a few years back and raves about it. Don't tie myself, but thought I would atleast pass on his suggestion. Below is a link to the model he got. Looks pretty close to what you were asking for also. Quite versatile.

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...questid=216514
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

The vice TradBow suggested is a great buy. As a second option, I'd recommend the Anvil Apex. I've loved mine, and have tied 24s to 7/0s with no problems. It also comes with a pedestal and a c-clamp base, which is a nice bonus. I really like using a pedestal, even at my home bench.

You might find a better deal elsewhere... but regardless it'll run you $90 to $100ish.
    http://www.fishusa.com/Anvil-Apex-Fl...ource=googleps

Both vices are made in USA, have a lifetime warranty, and would give you years of solid use.
    Pursue happiness with diligence.

Quote Originally Posted by danattherock View Post
    A good buddy of mine got a Renzetti a few years back and raves about it. Don't tie myself, but thought I would atleast pass on his suggestion. Below is a link to the model he got. Looks pretty close to what you were asking for also. Quite versatile.