Thread: scope parallax question

Default scope parallax question

I bought a Nikon Monarch 1-4X20 scope to go with my new Ruger Hawkeye Alaskan in .375 Ruger, but before I mounted it noticed that the cross-hairs were moving to a different point as I moved my head/eye around on the lens.

I'm not that experienced with scope problems, such as parallax, but sort of remember that a Redfield Widefield I once had did something similar, resulting in poor shot groups wandering around 5" at 100 yds. So I sent it in to Nikon on warrantee, but it came back in the same condition.

Is it just me, and I should accept what seems to be a scope alignment problem, and just try to work with a good cheek weld to the stock, etc.? This scope is supposed to be good for quickness and with "both eyes open." Appreciate any tips on this. Hope people that check their eye movement on the lens don't suddenly realize it ain't right.

bookburn

All scopes have parallax, unless they have external adjustment to eliminate it. At what range is the parralax on your scope fixed? Do the cross hairs still move at that range?
    "Beware the man with only one gun; he may know how to use it."

Yeah, a scope can only be parallax free at one range unless it is adjustable for parallax. Different companies use different ranges for that fixed distance. Most high powered rifle scopes are set at 150yds or more. If the set is at short range it can be off a couple of feet at 300yds. If its set at 200/250yds it won't be off more than an inch or so at 100. I have often wondered if parallax isn't the reason some rifles shoot tighter groups at 200yds than 100. Your scope probably is not broken but may have a parallax setting on the long end.

Your low power scope is most likely set parallax free at 75. Most high power scopes are preset at 150 yards.