Thread: gluing inserts

Default gluing inserts

I just started building arrows. How should I prep the inside of my carbon arrows prior to gluing the inserts? There's some residue from the saw.

Thanks

q-tip and acetone

It's also not a bad idea to rough up the inner surface so that the glue will hold better. They make a wire brush just for this, but a gun cleaning brush is better than nothing. stick it in & rotate it a few times.
    Then clean as KK mentioned (although I use rubbing alcohol).
    Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
    "But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."

I wipe the whole arrow down with rubbing alcohol and leave ove night to dry.
    Living the Alaskan Dream
    Gary Keller
    Anchorage, AK

Default Installing inserts

I think I'd really stay away from acetone on a composite product. I'm by no means an expert on carbon arrows, having only built a few (aluminum is my choice) for family. The best advice I recieved on gluing the inserts and it works well is:"Heat the insert until when touched against a tube of the hot glue it melts the glue and adheres to the insert. Then put the insert into the arrow and while it is still hot, wipe the excess glue off." I tried it and it beat the epoxy glue we had tried on the first ones we glued. It has never let loose of an insert. (now watch all of them fall out since I bragged on it)lol
    Tom
    PS. All I've used is just plain water to clean the arrow. Again, you mileage may vary.

Just use Goat tuff. No need now to use the melting glue. I forget the other glue I use it's made by Arizona fletching. This stuff works great and dries really fast.
    Living the Alaskan Dream
    Gary Keller
    Anchorage, AK