Thread: New to Ak hunting

Default New to Ak hunting

I am fairly new to Ak., been living here for 18 months 12 of which I was deployed to Afghanistan. I am back now and would like to start out small game hunting, then later in the spring maybe do a Black bear hunt and progress from there.
    I guess what I am asking is if anyone would have room in their adventures to show a guy brought up hunting in Missouri what small game in Ak. is about.
    I am not new to hunting by any means and am quiet familiar with firearms safety and handling at home, during travel and in the field as well as hunting bunnies, squirrels, dove, quail, turkey and Deer and many other species back home. Just don't want to mess up or do anything against the rules and laws of Alaska and learn better from hands on than by the books and manuals (not that I won't use them) I just know if I do it hands on I will understand better. Hopefully this pans out.
    Thanks for your time
    Richard Dunlap

Might want to let folks know where you are. AK is a big state.
    I'm going to ctrl-alt-delete you so hard your mama's computer is going to reboot.

Default oh shoot.. Sorry everyone

Thanks byrd_hntr I currently reside on Fort Richardson.

Default Hunting here

Sniper,
    I have been here in AK for 8 years now. The first 6 were up in Fairbanks I have only hunted small game here in ANC. I have a few spots for bunnies and spruce hens, but I'm always looking for someone to hunt with down here. I usually walk in if it's less than 10 miles or snow shoe, it's usually snow shoe. If you're intrested pm me I'm going yote and fox calling this weekend. Work allowing of course.

Jon

Hey, I'm on Elmendorf and have been up here about as long as you. Fortunately I've been here the whole time. The first rule up here is people don't share good spots. If you do, word gets out and EVERYONE will be there shooting the place up.