Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 340 weatherby - i think i am in love with this rifle

Default 340 weatherby - i think i am in love with this rifle

Went to the range this morning to break in my New Krieger Criterion barrel on my Custom 340Wby. I have never in my life broke in a barrel as quick as this one. It only took 9 rounds, in fact it was broke in by the 8th round. That is right. By the 8th round it only required putting bore cleaner using two patches, then one patch with copper remover then one with bore cleaner again and the cooper came out and then a dry patch and the patch was clean as a whistle.

The I started shooting groups of three then I would clean again and guys it only took the procedure I mention above and Thor's Hammer was ready for the next group. It does not like 210gr Partitions or 210gr Siroccos but it likes 250gr Acuubonds. Now none of the loads I shot today were max loads. Yep, things are really looking good this early. I am excited to say the least.

Here is how it shot the 250gr Accubond using IMR7828 today group .657"

This rifle is not hard to shoot at all and recoil is not as strong with the 250gr bullets as my Ruger 338Win mag in that straight stock it has.
    A GUN WRITER NEEDS:
    THE MIND OF A SCHOLAR
    THE HEART OF A CHILD
    THE HIDE OF A RHINOCEROS

340 weatherby - i think i am in love with this rifle

Looks as though you have good reason!

Congratulations, and I look forward to your further testing and reports.

Its always nice when a plan comes together. Looks like you gotta keeper.

I have always been a one load per gun guy. I wouldn't even worry about the 210's not shooting well. Your gonna ring the most thump outta that bruiser with the bigger bullets anyway. Keep us posted when ya kill something with it!