Thread: Moose Hunting Rivers with a Prop

Default Moose Hunting Rivers with a Prop

I have a 21' semi-v custom boat with twin prop motors. I'm looking to explore rivers around/near (relatively speaking of course) Fairbanks for potential moose hunting areas this/next fall. I know it's not the ideal boat for interior rivers, it was a compromise boat to be able to also go out on PWS. I've been in Alaska for nine years now, but this will be my first summer on the rivers.

I have zero experience on the interior rivers, so I'm looking for some ideas on where to start. I'm looking for rivers that aren't too shallow because I need at least 12" and probably 14" once loaded down. I know water levels drop in the fall, so I need some ideas that will still have enough water then.

I'm not looking for anyone's moose hunting spot, merely something along the lines of what areas of what river I could run with my boat. I'll go do the exploring myself this summer, heck that's half the fun.

I'm definitley going to go explore the Yukon, but I was wondering if I can put in at Circle or do I have to go up to the Dalton Highway to put in. I've heard it can be some thin water near Circle.
    "Beware the man with only one gun; he may know how to use it."

Ok, maybe someone could point me to a resource that has water depth levels for interior rivers at various points along their course?

If you want an adventure run down the Yukon and up the Koyukuk. Ton's of information here about making the journey. Our group has run 100% on moose since I started tagging along.
    Tennessee

If you want to send me a PM with a phone number and good times to call I will give you a shout - The way I type it would take a long time to give you decent information. I have a lot of time on most of the interior rivers and would be glad to give some insight.

I would be on the lookout for a couple of jet's for your motor's then you have the best of both world's.