Thread: newbie help

Default newbie help

good evening folks,

I was wondering if I could get some of that collective wisdom out there on snow machining... I am new to it and have been struggling a bit with steering the darn thing at slow speeds...

I have a 2001 two person ski-doo 440... so its pretty light and I know I need to lean and use body mechanics to help inlfuence where it goes... BUT it seems to need a HUGE area to be able to turn in a 180 or god forbid a 360 turn..

thoughts? ideas??

thanks in advance

Greg

It is usually the result of one of two things or both. Too little Ground Pressure on the Ski's or worn out skegs with missing carbides. Some skegs don't have carbides but even they should be beefy, more than half the diameter of new ones. You can adjust the Ski Pressure by adjusting the rear suspension fore and aft at the limiters/limiting straps. Not sure about your specific model, but you should be able to google it or look at an owners manual. One other thing, after market ski boots, often affect the skegs in a negative way.
    "96% of all Internet Quotes are suspect and the remaining 4% are fiction."
    ~~Abraham Lincoln~~

RMK

Default The trickiest adjustment

Steering adjustment is one of the trickier elements of snowmobile set up. There are a bunch of factors that affect steering.

As Akres mentions, ski pressure is one of them. You can have too little, or too much. Each sled is a little different, but generally it can be controlled by adjusting the limiter strap (as he said) as well as adjusting the pre-load on your front shocks assuming that you have the adjustable kind.

Skis are not supposed to be mounted exactly parallel with the axis of the snowmachine. They have a prescribed amount of "toe out" as called for by the manufacturer. Improperly mounted skis can add to the darting problem.