Thread: New to Baitcasting, anyone have some tips?

Default New to Baitcasting, anyone have some tips?

So last season I started to get into Fly fishing. and it was pretty fun, But this season I want to get into baitcasting, I have never done it before an I have no real idea what im getting into. I want a reel that could take the hit of a King salmon as well as a silver. What do you guys use? should I just go to Fred Meyers and pick up a combo rod/reel or is there a specific brand i should go online and buy? What kind of line should I use? (Mono/Floura/Braid) what test? So many questions so little time!
    A bad day fishing is still better than a good day at work.

I have used a 8.5 ft Lamiglas heavy-action rod with a Shimano Cardiff 300A for the last 4 years up here and have had phenomenal results with the set up. The nice thing about a setup like this is that it is very versatile. I have used it for fishing local rivers from both the bank and from boats, as well as on the ocean for silvers and rock fish. My line of choice for this setup is 50-lb test Spectra braided. Some will say that 50 pound test is overkill, but keep in mind that it only has the diameter of 14-lb mono, and it provides the ability to target a wide array of fish without having to switch your line out. Also, don't cheap out on the reel or you'll be kicking yourself for it later. When it comes to baitcasting reels, Shimano makes some of the best out there. Advantages of the Cardiff include:

1. Super-stopper bearings, which allow absolutely no slack when a fish hits, increasing solid hookups.

2. Top-notch magnetic VBS brake, which precisely controls the amount of line that flies off the spool on a cast. It is easy to adjust with a simple thumb-wheel, which is nice when you are switching from a heavy jig to a lighter pixee or spinner, or vice versa. This dramatically decreases the amount of dreaded "bird nests" that can easily suck up 15 to 20 minutes from a great fishing trip.