Thread: Cheap time builders

Default Cheap time builders

I'm a student pilot and have about 20 hours towards getting my private ticket. I'm starting to really enjoy flying and want to purchase a cheap time builder aircraft (much to the chagrin of my fiance) so I can continue to fly relatively cheap after I get my private certification. I can't continue to pay 130+ an hour to fly for much longer and figure owning my own will be cheaper in the long run. I've been picking up the Trade a plane from the flight school and it looks like you can get a 60's to 70's model C-150 for fairly cheap. I have also heard that Champs and Taylorcrafts are great starter planes but have not seen many of them advertised. Just wondering if anyone had any tips on where to look, what to look for and other advice on getting a time builder in to 20K or under range. Any other advice for a student pilot and first time buyer is also greatly appreciated.

I bought a T'craft I found on Craigslist last year. Barnstormers.com and ebay are places to look. I think the best way to find a deal would be to keep an eye out when at the airport. I was up at lake hood about two weeks ago and saw several planes with for sale signs. Just make sure you do your reaserch and get a pre buy inspection from someone not associated with the plane.
    At sea, it's force not reason that confers sovereign rights

Default No such thing as a cheap plane