Thread: CAP anyone involved?

Default CAP anyone involved?

I'm a low time pilot that moved here recently that is interested in learning more about flying up here. I tried to get involved with the Birchwood Squadron but it seeemed that no one there could even take the time to tell me what I had to do to get into a plane. Is anyone involved in the polaris squadron in Anchorage? Are they more receptive to new people?

There was a ton of experienced guys there which is the kind of company I'm looking for (learn from the other's experience). Just didn't seem all that organized or interested in helping new guys get started.

Thanks

There has been a problem with various squadrons across the State with the good-old-boys treating their squadron like a private flying club.

The reduced number of actual SAR missions during the last year has not helped morale much either. The Troopers are trying to justify the money they have poured into AST aircraft and thus are not very quick to call upon the CAP for missing persons, missing hunters, boats and snow-machiners. They only call after they can't find anything. By then it is usually too late.

Another problem with keeping members interested has been a flood of odd-ball paperwork during the last couple of years. It is really not all that hard, but we all have a few folks in our squadrons who refuse to do it, and insist on dragging everyone else down the tube with them....

The Squadron at Merill Field is pretty active and they meet once a week. Not all of them, but a good number. They have always treated me well when I visit and seem to be a group of go-getters..

Don't be discouraged and try again. Maybe there was something odd going on right then, "like some sort in in-house tension" or who knows what.

If you lived closer to Homer I would have you in our squadron right flippin now...

If you still get the run around, send me an e-mail at dragonfly@alaska.net
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero