Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newby info on uhf, dinghy, radar etc.

Default Newby info on uhf, dinghy, radar etc.

Hi, everyone. 15 year river-rat new to the ocean boating experience and to the Forum. This is my first attempt at utilizing this medium so please bear with me. I just purchased a 24' Hewescraft Pac Cruiser and am preparing to outfit it with...radar/gps/plotter, dinghy, survival suits, handheld uhf, canopy over the back, potpuller/pots, and downriggers. I would appreciate any and all input in the matter before I purchase these items. What to buy and what to stay away from. Thank you in advance for your advice/input.

Quote Originally Posted by babyhewey View Post
    Hi, everyone. 15 year river-rat new to the ocean boating experience and to the Forum. This is my first attempt at utilizing this medium so please bear with me. I just purchased a 24' Hewescraft Pac Cruiser and am preparing to outfit it with...radar/gps/plotter, dinghy, survival suits, handheld uhf, canopy over the back, potpuller/pots, and downriggers. I would appreciate any and all input in the matter before I purchase these items. What to buy and what to stay away from. Thank you in advance for your advice/input.
    I can help in the pot/puller depts, please check out my website and when your ready give me a email or call. I'll also be a all the outdoors shows this spring. Lots of folks on this site will tell ya about my gear.

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

My guess is you'd get more responses if you broke out some of these subjects--downriggers, for example--in separate threads. Also, it would be helpful if you could provide some info on your budget, and any particular features you're looking for.