Thread: Advice on skinning a musk ox / muskox

Default Advice on skinning a musk ox / muskox

OK, I have skinned several big game animals (Elk, Caribou, Sheep and Goat). I am familiar with basic caping and taking hide off of skull. Where I have NO experience is with Musk Ox. How in the heck do you remove the hide/hair from between the horns, in the middle of the boss? I plan on caping for a shoulder mount, and then skinning the back side for a rug. Anyone on here have advice for me? Yea, I'd love a life-size mount, but big bucks and also I have no room... Thanks in advance.

Fairbanks, Ak.

If you shoot an old enough bull, it won't have much for hair between the bosses. What is there isn't worth worrying about. The Taxi will take care of that.
    The hard part is getting the skin off the head that is under the horns. You can make a cut from the front of the boss, down the middle of the forehead, about 3 or 4 in. to help get the skin peeling off.
    If you have a taxidermist lined up, talk with him.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

I used a scalpal with replaceable blades to get around the horns and eye sockets. I've done a bunch of animals and this was by far the hardest and most time consuming, and I did mine on my porch. If it were early enough in the day, and warm enough out, you might be able to get it done in the field, but you would have to work fast before it froze up too much. My taxidermist told me to cut the hide to the horns, and not worry about the hair between the horns. If you take a look at my old post, I've got some pictures of the head right after the hide was taken off and it shows how tight of an area it is between the eye sockets and horn. You have to go at it blind for a while in there. Just keep everything as close to the skull as you can, be3 patient, and you should be okay.

NorthWest Alaska

Wish I had a better pict....

But this all I got.