Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: No bashing....just venting

Default No bashing....just venting

I am a retriever trainer and frequent the Palmer Hay Flats regularly. I train in areas that are right popular for other amateur trainers and even those that just go out to walk their dogs.

Here's the problem. I went out to one of my areas to train...haven't been there since last summer. With the winds we have been having lately I scouted out the area for potential dog training. It looked good so I went out to set up. When I did.. I noticed out of place sticks...this is a watery area during the summer so a stick is well out of place. It just didn't belong. Being inquisitive I pulled it up. A chain was attached so I figured it is a trap. I then looked around and the whole area had sticks with traps attached.
    I understand trapping goes on in the area, but never this close to where others venture. Typically you see trails made by the trappers where they go in to check there traps. I do avoid those areas. But these traps had no trail to them no sign at all of being checked. In fact they were covered over by snow and frozen in.
    My guess is they were placed here during the fall and then simply left. Maybe winter caught up with the trapper too fast and he couldn't pull them. I don't know. These things are setup right along a road. A very popular road. Just doesn't seem ethical.
    Before you start bashing me I know there are laws in place to protect your trapping rights. And then you'll tell me that I wasn't suppose to touch the traps and that I could get arrested. That's ok...I know there are good people and bad people. I'm looking to hear from the good people on how to best handle this situation.