Thread: Bowhunting for seals

Default Bowhunting for seals

Hi folks,
    This summer I'll be teaming with a native Greenlander to visit his summer hunting/fishing camp in East Greenland. He wants me to try hunting seals with my bow. I'm not sure this has been done before so this is the current plan. I will appreciate criticisms, suggestions, or recommendations.

Since we'll be targeting seals in the water I will use a bowfishing set up with hunting broadheads and a float attached to the arrow (instead of trying to reel it in like a fish).

My experience with Alaskan seals is that they rarely let you approach within 30 yards and only show their heads above the water for a few seconds. I have no experience bowfishing and will have little opportunity to practice before heading to Greenland so I don't know how a fishing arrow flies. Can anybody tell me about their experience? Is 30 yards too much distance to shoot a fishing arrow? (it's not a high percentage shot but we want to try it anyway)

Is it possible to spin-stabilize a fishing arrow? Probably not with fletching, but possibly by angling the blades on the broadhead similar to crimson talon broadheads? I have had good success hunting deer with crimson talons but have no evidence for or against their actual efficacy at spinning an arrow.

If this stimulates some discussion I will come back with more specific questions.

Please don't flame me for hunting sea mammals. Seals are a staple for the Greenlanders and I am hunting with a legitimate subsistence hunter.

Thanks in advance for any comments,
    Dan

Any idea what species of seal you'll be hunting? Are they large or small as far as seals go?