Thread: Benchrest rifle and caliber

Default Benchrest rifle and caliber

I am a longtime viewer and 1st time poster. This forum has been a great source of information and insight. Thanks in advance. I have reloading equipment and number of rifles that are used for hunting in Alaska and the lower 48, but am interested in getting into benchrest shooting on a limited budget. Any ideas on some standard rifles and calibers?

I'm by no means an expert, but I belive the 6.5MM's are the "in" thing for benchshooting. A lot of high BC bullets available and low recoil.
    Finally, Brad Childress is GONE!

Depends.............opinions certaintly vary on this complex and hot subject but my readings lead me to the 6mm Norma BR.
    http://www.accurateshooter.com/forum/index.php

Another good site is:
    http://www.benchrest.com/forums/

Rifles? Well, this will start an debate for sure! But my money for a beginner would go for a Savage in 6mm Norma BR. These can be found for under $1,000, add a nice quality scope for $500-600 and some BR quality dies, couple boxes of the right Berger bullets and hit the range and practice practice and practice. Make sure you match the bullet weight to the twist of your rifle.
    Tennessee

Quote Originally Posted by Patty View Post
    I am a longtime viewer and 1st time poster. This forum has been a great source of information and insight. Thanks in advance. I have reloading equipment and number of rifles that are used for hunting in Alaska and the lower 48, but am interested in getting into benchrest shooting on a limited budget. Any ideas on some standard rifles and calibers?
    There are lots of disciplines within BR. For 100-200 competition there is really just one common caliber--6mm PPC. After 200 yards wind drift is a more significant issue so there are a number of different cartridges that are being used. Deciding what class you want to participate shooting will decide a great deal about what is the best caliber/rifle.