Thread: Who uses air guns for target and small game?

Default Who uses air guns for target and small game?

Just for shooting fun, the air gun is a lot of fun and significantly cheaper to shoot.
    Rifles and pistols every type ,even air soft, which may supprize you in accuricy and function and weight. ( not the cheap plastic junk)
    Grant you there is no noise ner kick, but you can shoot in the house .
    My son and I have a good time any time .
    There are some questions though concerning hunting with pellet guns .
    and I was wondering about it.

I've been using a Daisy 717 for close to 30 years. It's a side cocking "target" model, launching pellets at well under 500 fps. Lots of plastic, but incredibly accurate, and has proven to be lots more durable than I could have guessed. It's the "secret" behind all my handgun shooting. Regular indoor bullseye-style practice.

To tell you how accurate it is, I shoot a hole in a blank piece of paper, then use the hole for my target at 20 feet.

I use it outdoors a lot too, with witnessed kills on voles to a little over 50 paced-off feet. It's munched every red squirrel head I've hit with it, too. Pop, whap, dead. I have absolutely no doubt that it would brain snowshoe hares within its range. Everyone is in love with high vel, but with good shooting, it's just not necessary for head shots. I'll take super accuracy any day.

I haven't checked, but as recenly as a year ago the latest version of the model is still available today for something under $100 as I recall. It can be scoped, too.

Sometimes I think of getting a high grade target model from Beeman, but the price scares me and I go back to shooting my cheapy. I'll settle for plastic at the lower price, because there's just no way a gun that costs more than five times as much could be any more accurate in my hand.

Air rifles are the perfect trigger practice from the back deck. I use the heck out of mine.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!