Thread: Boats For Cook Inlet?

Default Boats For Cook Inlet?

Question from total newby here. What kind of boats to people use to get around Cook Inlet? Like to get from one side to the other in search of hunting and fishing?

Thanks in Advance!
    Emily
    Last edited by Daveinthebush; 01-26-2010 at 10:00.

Cook Inlet near Anchorage is a silty mess. This is due to the waters flowing into it. Several large ones are glacial. The commonly utilized salt water areas are Whittier, Seward and Homer north to Kenai. It is a drawback of the area. If Anchorage had a small boat harbor and clear water it would be awesome. Likewise for Turnagain Arm (if you are reading about living in Indian/Girdwood etc south of Anchorage).

There is not an all around boat for the Anchorage area. It all depends on what you wish to do and the amount of spare change in your piggy bank.

Mike

Default Okay,

After spending 3 seasons gillnetting in the inlet this is my opinion: go for the most boat you can afford with a hardtop/cabin with heat. You'd be surprised how cold it can be out there, even in July/August.
    Go with a self-bailing deck if possible.
    Twin power or kicker (although a kicker is NOT going to move you against a strong tide which is obviously common in the inlet).
    Know & understand how the middle rip works (this applies to you since you want to cross).
    Get survival suits, epirb, etc. file a float plan.
    Try to go with a buddy boat if possible.
    Stay away from I/O power.

If you got deep pockets:
    North River
    FishRite
    Hewescraft
    Seawolf
    GlacierCraft

If you're limited to a open type skiff (cold); I'd go for a 20' Klamath/Bayrunner with twins; lots of guys got started in the early days of charter fishing the inlet with these.

Good luck! Jim

Default I'll bite