Thread: Sometimes, all you can do is shake your head....

Default Sometimes, all you can do is shake your head....

So I have been going out predator calling every weekend for about the last month and a half. I have yet to call in anything other than hawks and ravens. I am not a novice at calling, I have called in fox and coyotes before, just not in Alaska.

Recently, I decided to eliminate one of the variables and I bought a Foxpro E-caller. Well, still no luck. I have put on some serious miles, tried many places both day and night. Still nothing, that is until today.

Today, I was sitting in my house, playing around with the caller. Figuring out exactly what I can do with it. I had set it down not 5 minutes before my wife had walked in the door and she had some news.......There's a FOX IN OUR YARD!!!!!!! Coincidence, maybe. Rabid, could be. No matter what, all I can do is shake my head.

By the way, did I mention I live in town?

Ryan
    "If you are not working to protect hunting, then you are working to destroy it." ......Fred Bear

Ryan,
    I feel your pain. Predator calling in AK is very hard. Where I am from you can go out and just drive around and see 10 coyotes easily in a day.

If you got serious about it and went out calling, well lets just say it was a blast!!!!!

Since I have moved up here I have really cut back on my calling trips. I'd rather fly back home for a week and go calling. I can see more coyotes in a week back home than living up here for years....

Keep at it, your bound to call something in....outside of town.

Default Good job.

Don't feel bad. I had two straight years of zero animals killed, except for a Lynx that I called but couldn't shoot due to season being closed. All I can say is stick with it. You'll find things that work and find some areas that hold animals that'll respond. I never called in the lower 48, so I have no idea what "easy" calling is all about. I might have to take a trip one of these days just to see what it's like.