Thread: New Gardner in Fairbanks

Default New Gardner in Fairbanks

My wife and I are going to put in our first garden this spring. We have a nice spot with lots of sun. I cleared the land last summer and tilled it. I am planning on tilling again this spring and then planting.
    Just wondering what we should really plan on growing in our first year garden? Are there certain plants that would do better?
    I hear potatoes grow well so I am definitely planning on those and some carrots.
    Any help, ideas are greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

May I ask why you're planning to till the dirt? I'm new to this gardening thing too, but I've done a lot of reading, and more and more gardening experts are recommending against tilling the soil. Tilling destroys the structure of the soil and the microbe foodweb that benefits your plants. When we plant this spring we'll be rolling the roots of the starts in some mycorrhizal fungi and planting them straight in - no tilling required. We'll also add some compost, but otherwise that's all that is needed from what I understand.

One of the best books I've read on the subject is Teaming with Microbes - A Gardeners Guide to the Soil Food Web. Might be worth a read during these cold winter months.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Brian Tilling up here is nearly required to work the garden.. most our soils left hard pan will shed the water when dry, make weeding extremely difficult as well stall growth of your garden. tilling allows you to MOUND your rows to get a warmer root base. allows you to water that particualr area and lets the sun in better. not to mention maint is cut considerabley in a mounded row rather then flat ground.

your potatoes will definatly need to be tilled and heaped as they grow to support goot root and tuber growth.. if it runs out of room.. you will have 3-4 large spuds instead of 12-15 large spuds per plant.