Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 308 Win load

Default 308 Win load

I'm new to handloading and looking for opinions on a good load for 308 Win with 165 gr bullet. My main goal is target shooting and hunting (moose, caribou) that's why I chose 165 gr bullet. I'd like to develop a single load that I can use with cheap bullets for target practice and higher quality bullets for hunting.

What bullets, brass, primer and powder would you recommend?

You have picked a very easy cartridge with a lot of options.

I use Hornady Match brass for my hunting loads with 175gr Berger bullets. When shooting with my buddies using that same bolt gun I use Lapua brass with Varget and Sierra 168gr Match King bullets. I also use much cheaper Winchester brass and H-4895 for youth and wife loads.

With primers I use a stash of Federal 210 primers on the youth loads and the CCI BR2 for everything else.

Powders that I have used with the 308 Win are BLC-2, Varget, RL-15 and 4007sc with equaly good results.

I use the 4007sc with 175 and 200gr bullets in a 24" 1:10 twist AR style rifle. The RL-15 with 175gr Bergers, Varget with 168gr Match Kings, BLC-2 with 155gr Bergers and the H-4895 with 110gr Vmax's for the light recoiling youth loads.

I'm guessing that your rifle is a 1:12 twist in a 22-24" variety. If that's the case you will probably want to stay below 175gr bullets.

You could probably do all of the above with Varget and do fine. I like the Sierra Match Kings for target practice and the Nosler Accubond and Berger VLD for hunting with that rifle. There are several good bullets out there but I have had great accuracy with the ones I mentioned.

Varget in the 42gr-46gr range and 168gr bullets will do a good job for you.