Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Want to guide?

Default Want to guide?

1. Remember - it is a profession. Kind of like being a surgeon where "surgery" can entail removing a sliver or working on the brain. Brain surgeons get paid more than "sliver removers".

2. Find a good guiding operation that DOESN'T need help to work for. (You won't be working for nothing either from a monetary or knowledge standpoint).

3. Forget everything "self taught" (well almost everything) about hunting.

4. Spend the time to learn the basics and remember "guiding" as with any other profession is a life long learning process. And, that does not mean "parroting" such profound statements as "you can a big bear by the way it walks" or "the ears look big on little bears".

5. If at the end of that first season you can't wait to get back to town or you believe the time is right to start guiding hunters with out direct supervision find anther profession - if the guide believes you are ready to start guiding find another guide.

6. You may well learn from your experiences but - you won't teach yourself. That will require a lot of input from a broad spectrum of people - guides, biologists, conservationist, land managers and others for too numerous to mention in this post. Remember, once a "bridge is burned" it takes a long time to rebuild.

Good Luck - it is a great life (for some).
    Joe (Ak)

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

YEAH i POSTED that same story last winter..
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Quote Originally Posted by Montana338 View Post
    Joe – I know it can be a challenging life here is my story:
    Great example of "learning from our experiences"!
    Thanks
    Joe (Ak)

Joe – I know it can be a challenging life here is my story:

http://www.snopes.com/critters/farce/ropedeer.asp