Thread: Yakutat wild idea

Default Yakutat wild idea

I have been doing some research and it looks like there are several registration hunts in unit 5 around Yakutat open during late Oct - Nov. They are for brown bear, goat, and moose. I am primarily after brown bear, but I am wondering about the feasibility of taking roughly 1 week to devote to bear and moose hunting, then switching gears to look for a goat for roughly another week. Is this feasible? Would the logistics be feasible, i.e. do you need a boat to bear hunt then a plane to fly in for goat? Also, I realize in the fall the bears will be on salmon streams. How crowded is the hunting on the streams in the area?

I'm not looking for any secret spots or anything, just a sanity check on whether or not this is even doable. I am an AK resident, but don't live up there due to being active duty military. As such, I don't have a boat or anything to use. Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Check the maps, alot of the area is private land which is leased to guides and even for them trophy fee's are charged. Check the tread mark taylor did a while ago.

Terry

Yeah, I saw that thread--crazy. I was looking at the National Forest/Preserve areas, though. Are there any huntable/possibly productive areas within the National Forest/Preserve areas (again, not looking for secret spots)? As I mentioned in another thread, with an upcoming deployment to Afghanistan and a baby due in Sept, I'm just trying to come up with some plans for Oct/Nov, and brown bear is high on my list.

Default Combo

Here is my experience.......Anything that has to do with goat hunting requires rest. That being said....if you hunt hard for bear and try and goat hunt your goat hunt just might not get 100% of your best effort. If you do the goat hunt then your bear hunt may not get 100% of your best effort. Thats just from a pure performance based standpoint.