Thread: 8mm Rem Mag Projectiles

Default 8mm Rem Mag Projectiles

Hi All,
    This is my first time on and im from Aussie.I used to have a 8mm Rem Mag about 15 years ago and sold it,looking to purchase a little used gun of the same Cal.again. Could anyone supply info on projectiles that will hold together at the velocities it can be loaded to?

200 gr speer, 200 gr nosler partition, barnes 180 gr tsx will stay intact. I've had a 8mm rem mag since 1977, great gun.

Thanks for that, had heard the Barnes proj. were good,can they all be loaded pretty hard ? Had tried some R.W.S stuff before and they couldnt hack it, even their solid broke up

Talking Barnes

I shoot the Barnes X 180gr in my 8mm338 at around 3250fps and have had excellent results. Nosler would be my next choice, which I used before Barnes came out with the X.
    If you like getting kicked by a mule...then you'll "love" shooting my .458.

I use 200 grain swift Aframe and 200 grain barnes tsx with good results. Both are tough as nails and handle the velocity of the big 8 with aplomb.

Thanks for the info all, 8MM Rem Mags are like hens teeth in Oz, as is finding someone who has used one.Used my old one on Buffalo and pig in Oz and on plains game in Zimbabwe, loved shooting it even with sussy pills it still poleaxed them all.Can only be better this time around

220 gr Sierra Gameking is another. Sierra designed it specifically for the 8mm Rem Mag. It has a thicker jacket. I think Barnes and Woodleigh used to make a 250gr .323, it seems the big case of the 8mm begs for that heavier bullet.

If you can't get your hands on a Big 8 you could try the Little 8, the 325 wsm. It's a .323 and ballistics come close to the Big 8 unless you are really loading the Big 8 hot. 180gr at 3100, 200gr at 2950, 220 gr at 2800. This is what I've gotten out of my Little 8 with a 23 inch barrel experimenting with only one powder.