Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you use for bait???

Default What do you use for bait???

Hi guys

I have been hunting and baiting bear since 1984. Just wondering what bait most of you are using. I have used donuts for some time. What other bait has been used with success.

Kirk

I've had great luck with sticking to the "norm".

If it's SWEET, they shall come

Dodgefan01

Thank you, That is true; they seemed to be in heaven.

Kirk

They sure did like it when i threw kettle corn out there, but boy is that stuff expensive!

I poured a couple of cans of Vanilla Coke on an old rotten stump a few years back, just for kicks. When I went back to check my bait a few days later, the stump was gone. I have been using Vanilla Coke as an attractant since. Give it a try.
    USN Seabee '90-'95, NRA Life Member

WOW! That's crazy, i wander if soaking wiks and hanging them would do the trick! It makes sense, awful syrupy and sweet, sticky when dry.

I know this may sound wierd but my wife brought it up when i was talking about honey burns....

Candles? Like the xmas cookie candles, etc..

I bet there is all kinds of things those bears would ride bikes for. This will be the first year I use Bait'ems hanging bait. Will see how it works. I would like to hear more ideas.

I cook at the site:

1 bag of marshmallows
    16 ozs of sryup
    1 box of jello (strawberry)
    1 pound of sugar

I heat this over a burn until everything is melted together. I then pour it over the donuts. This stuff is really sticky.

I know it sounded kinda off but it got some gears turnin'

Anyway, kirk, do you burn over sterno? Can i do this with my propane torch?

Default Multiple

If you plan to cook over sterno, be sure to use more than one... I'd consider three. Heats much faster.
    Or a camp stove that you have no intention of every using anywhere important again - it will get goo on it.
    I like using a paint can. You can buy a new one at Home Depot for a couple bucks.