Thread: Baiting Info?

Default Baiting Info?

Im new to baiting. Im very excited i will finally get to do some hunting in Alaska but have a few questions. What is the best way to get the barrel to your site? Can you use ATVs? I was under the impression tht you cant use a ATV unless there was a certain amount of snow. Im in good shape been walking around the mountains in afghanistan for a year. So if i did have to carry everything i guess i could deal with it. Im glad to get home to the family and some more hunting. Ive been researching this site as much as possable, i want to thank everyone on here this is a very helpful site. Last thing ive heard and read on here that the bait from 907baitem is the place to go, is this so? Any info would be appriciated.

It really depends on where you go. You really should go out ahead of time to do your scouting (you know about that). You only have to be 1/4mi of any maintained road so hiking that may not be a big deal, just may take a few trips to do so. The other important aspect to keep in mind is that you have to be 1mi away from any homes or seasonal cabins, etc.

Most places on the interior, you can use wheelers to get to where you're going. I didn't have a wheeler the first time and still had luck. Of course, the farther back you go, may be better depending on your surroundings and when you want to hunt (spring/fall)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodgefan01 View Post
    It really depends on where you go. You really should go out ahead of time to do your scouting (you know about that). You only have to be 1/4mi of any maintained road so hiking that may not be a big deal, just may take a few trips to do so. The other important aspect to keep in mind is that you have to be 1mi away from any homes or seasonal cabins, etc.