Thread: Allergic to Cedar?

Default Allergic to Cedar?

Anybody ever heard of somebody that couldn't live in a cedar home?
    Science has a rich history of proving itself wrong.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

yes i have, some cedars are so pungent that the allergies of some people can not with stand it.
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

The only known cure is to sign the home over to me, I can save you, but act quickly.
    Problems related to Fish and Game harvesting.................Make it illegal to use and combustible fuel to operate any mechanical equipment when in pursuit of any Fish and/or Game in Alaska.

Default wood alleriges?

I am a woodworker and know that there are many woods that may not be good to work with, but that's when cutting and sanding. I would think that if you sealed it in a finish it should not be a problem. What is happening to make one think its the cedar?

Default Cedar poisoning

I know some loggers in SE that have cedar poisoning, but they get it on their hands and arms. My Dad had it on his hands and it would get worse when wearing wet gloves while cutting cedar. It would cause small blisters, redness and dry skin. The Doc called it contact dematitis caused by the plicatic acid in the wood. I heard that shake splitters sometimes would get respiratory problems from working around the cedar dust. I suppose if the wood in the house was sealed, it wouldn't cause a problem, but who knows...

My wife is sensitive to cedar. Causes her asthma to act up. There is no way we could live in a house that had a lot of cedar in it, sealed or not.

Yep. I am. It's just a mild allergy, but it makes my nose run and makes me sneeze.