Thread: Wolverine trapping

Default Wolverine trapping

I am looking for some tips on wolverine trapping methods.I need some new tricks.

What are your old tricks? How about a 5 gallon bucket with a 330. Like marten, but think bigger.

I always say 4 things #1 a solid cubby (or bucket) that they can't get in from the back. #2 a 330 as they don't get out. #3 a nice large bait ( I like about a 15 lb hunk of beaver) and #4 a heavy dose of loud, skunky lure. That said, I'm no expert and only have a lifetime total of 10 wolverines.

Are you trapping where there are trees? Do you know what a marten pole set is? Make the same thing for a wolverine. Bait at the end of the pole, but instead of a trap or coni, use a snare. Hang snare about 7 in. off pole. Wolverine will climb pole to get bait and walk thru snare. In general they are not trap/snare shy.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

could you double your poles set for wolverine and marten if you hung the snare before the marten trap?
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

Sure, if you want to use 6 in. dia. poles for marten, then maybe you could do that.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

How about foot holds.Any sugestions

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by trapperschmidt View Post
    How about foot holds.Any sugestions
    yup,
    Set three at the front of the cubby. One in the middle and one on each outside corner. Place/wire real good a hare hide or cat hide at the back of the cubby. Wolverine hate cats with a passion, it is their worst enemy. It helps get them mad. You won't catch him on the center trap, but he will end up getting in one of the side traps when he gets frustrated and tries backing out with the bait. One cat = two wolverine, general rule of thumb.
    "96% of all Internet Quotes are suspect and the remaining 4% are fiction."
    ~~Abraham Lincoln~~