Thread: Any experience with Reindeer/Caribou on Kodiak?

Default Any experience with Reindeer/Caribou on Kodiak?

I am wonderng if anyone has experience hunting the Feral Reindeer on Kodiak Island, now considered a Caribou hunt by F&G. Even as a Kodiak local for many years I have mostly heard rumors and just a few hunt success stories. They are traveling a lot and are a serious chunk of walking miles from your freezer... are larger than northern Caribou by substantial amount of "packing out" poundage... etc. Looking for any info I can get before taking the boat down to look around. I'll post what I find when I get back near end of Jan.

Default Feral Reindeer

I have no experience with late season reindeer - just September.

Yes, they do move around quite a bit and now there is more than 1 herd (or the herd is split). What we did was contact a pilot (we used Sea Hawk but others are good also) and said - put us as close to the reindeer as practical. We let Roland do the rest.

As far as a boat is concerned, I have no info.- but unless they move close to the coast in winter, they are going to be a LONG pack.

We got a couple driving by the Sturgeon River a few years back in early May, pretty close to the beach, back when it was no closed season, no bag limit. Does anyone know why F&G decided to change that policy?

Default Kodiak Caribou for Sustainability

They told me down at F&G that they figured they wanted to start managing them for sustainability as they are up to 3-400 animals and considered well established as a Kodiak Island Herd. So now it is tightening up quite a bit. Supposedly they originally wanted them out of there,(not a F&G quote)
    F&G guy in Kodiak didn't seem to have seen a lot of success or even interest in the hunt tho