Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Switch Rods

Default Switch Rods

Are any of you guys using the 10-11 foot switch rods for bows on the Kenai? I have no experience with these rods, but the theory behind them seems like a good deal. Kinda combines Spey casting and overhead casting with a moderately long rod. Should make mending more efficient and easier. Any input is appreciated.

Not on the Kenai, but lots of experience with them, including fishing with the originators and their rods. In a nutshell, they're "neither fish nor fowl" while being a fair compromise. The best lines for overhead casting (Skagit style) are ROTTEN for mending, compared to true spey lines. If you want the most latitude for mending you just about have to go with spey lines and true spey rods will be better. For overhead casting, spey lines are ROTTEN, and the Skagits shine.

I'm not saying the switch rods aren't good, but to get the most benefit you definitely will want both a true spey line and a Skagit with it's short head set up for distance casting. You can launch a Skagit a country mile, but it's not a mending line. And spey casting with a "short" switch rod isn't going to be quite as effective as a true spey rod, but you gain lots on convenience. I really don't like fighting fish on spey rods, so bonus points to the switch.

Nutshell? I figure it would be an ideal setup on big water like the Kenai, provided you arrived with both a traditional spey line and a Skagit style line. And provided you're willing to switch back and forth between them as conditions warrant. That's where the "switch" in the name comes from.

Quote Originally Posted by BrownBear View Post
    Nutshell? I figure it would be an ideal setup on big water like the Kenai, provided you arrived with both a traditional spey line and a Skagit style line. And provided you're willing to switch back and forth between them as conditions warrant. That's where the "switch" in the name comes from.