Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking of building a Tolman Skiff

Default Thinking of building a Tolman Skiff

Has anyone on here built a Tolman Skiff? I am new to boat building and was wondering how complex this design was to build. Is it something a relatively inexperierienced boat builder can tackle? I am working on a much smaller boat now but am looking for the next project already.

Default Some links for ya...

At one point a year ago I thought I was going to build a Tolman and did some research, but ended up having an aluminum boat built instead. However, here's a couple of websites to look over...

Tolman users website

Anchorage kit supplier

The kits gets you a hull only. The cabin design and pieces you do yourself.

Paul H on this list will probably reply. He's built a Jumbo and is very knowledgeable.

www.fishyfish.com they have a wonderfull forum there for all of us tolmanites, sign up for the forum and there is a wealth of knowledge there i also think there are a few guys on this forum too

The hardest part of building a glass over wood boat is becoming comfortable with the fiberglassing. Once you know how to spread epoxy and understand your pot life, it is pretty easy as long as you have the space to build.

Renn's book is pretty good. I also like Sam Devlin's book on stitch and glue boat building.

I have built one Devlin boat for duck hunting as well as three other messing around small boats based on different concepts or plans.

One day I will have the time and funds to build a Tolman, but it will have to be in the summer since my one car garge is way too small.

Neal at Lasertech in Anchorage makes the kits and has built a beautiful Tolman himself. Probably be a good one to talk with.

Default Thanks for the links

There are some beautiful boats on that site. Are the kits hull only? I didn't see anything on the cabin.

I've done some thinking about building a boat as well, but you are way ahead of me if you've started a small one.