Thread: What kind of campers do you use?

Default What kind of campers do you use?

I'm in the market for a cab over camper for my long bed 1 ton. I have very little experience with them and I would like to hear what you guys use. It will be used in the summer but I would like the option of winter trips..any ideas on good brands. Not looking for new, just good!
    Thanks!

A tent

I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Default campers??

I'm with Powdermonkey......Why limit yourself....when you can carry your house on your back.

Default Bigfoot...

I have a 16-foot Bigfoot pull along travel trailer in a 1993.5 vintage. The dry weight is 2200 lbs. It pulls nicely and is equiped with a 4 burner propane stove/oven, over sized propane refridgerator/freezer, ample storage space, a toilet/shower compartment, and propane heater. The bench folds out to sleep one/two people as well does the dining table. Is is a single axled two piece fiberglass molded shell. It serves me well to areas along the Alaska road system. Other travel trailer considerations might include Casita with similiar options but a more compact design.

Default Buy Used!!!

I'm no expert but here's my suggestion.

Buy used, buy used, buy used.

I see these the most - Lance, Bigfoot, Fleetwood, S&S campers.

Kind of depends on what you need. I'm a back packer and use a tent more times than not but I have a Fleetwood Elkhorn for keeping the wife and youngest happy when necessary. It's also nice to have when we head to the lake for a day or two. Used is good. Used and obsolete is better. Fleetwood no longer makes campers. Finding a deal on one is that much easier.

As for backcountry adventures - if there's a road to it - you'll likely spend the night parked next to someone... Adventure starts where the roads end...

Good luck

got a 96 fleetwood, if your interested that would fit real nice in the back of your truck

Default Coachman