Thread: Case prep Arghh!

Default Case prep Arghh!

Ok, I'm a little frustrated at prepping cases, as I think it takes way too much time. Here's my standard for bottleneck cases (once fired- not by me)

1. Clean cases in vib. cleaner
    2. Lube
    3. Resize/ Decap
    4. Anneal (if not already done)
    5. Uniform primer pocket (biggest pain)
    6. Uniform flash hole
    7. Trim
    8. Deburr
    9. Brush inside necks
    10. Resize neck (to compensate for trim pilot deformation)

Am I overdoing it? Not enough prep? I'm just frustrated when I devote an hour per night to reloading, that I only get about 10-15 cases ready to reload.

I guess I'm not really asking any real technical questions here, just venting a bit... I'm just kind of frustrated over the compromise between absolute perfection, and a feeling of accomplishment by filling a box of ammo in less than a week.

Any others feel this way, or am I just being a whiner?

I am by no means an expert, but here's my process for the .300 win mag:

De-prime, trim for length, into the tumbler for cleaning, clean primer pocket and flash hole, neck-resize and load. I have no issues with accuracy and I'm getting very consistent velocity. (Loaded a run of ten rounds and had only a 12 fps. deviation!)

I am not into competition shooting, and my accuracy is more than adequate for hunting purposes. It does take some time, but I enjoy it.

The other 299,300,000 people can have it.

Noone has a more intimate understanding of, or deeper appreciation for freedom, than a soldier who has fought for it in a country where it does not exist.

Quote Originally Posted by Akheloce View Post
    2. Lube
    3. Resize/ Decap
    6. Uniform flash hole
    7. Trim
    8. Deburr
    9. Brush inside necks
    Skip 1, 4, 9 and 10.