Thread: How do i get a flying Job.

Default How do i get a flying Job.

I am a commercial rated pilot with a little of 600 hrs i have about 250 alaska hours and am looking to get hired. I grew up in Soldotna and currently live in nikiski. Every one sais that bethal is were you start. And I am willing to get started out there. What Do i need to do to get out there?

Send a resume'?

Default Grizzly 1

Quote Originally Posted by Muskeg56 View Post
    Send a resume'?
    Send a resume to whom? I lived in Alaska for 35-years, and have thousands of Alaska bush hours. Once owned High Lake Lodge, and flew for a time with Painter Creek Lodge, down near Heiden. You can check me out in "Flying the Alaska Wild" and "The Bush Pilot Chronicles," both of which I wrote.

Anxious to get back to what I did best! So, whom does one contact in Bethel?

Mort

Anchorage Suburbanites, part time Willowbillies, Appleseeds, and Weekend Warrior Turquoise Miners!

Grant and Hageland have offices in Anchorage.

Yute Air in Bethel.

Hi Mort:
    I read 'Flying the Alaska Wild' a couple times and both times I enjoyed it. Your book was at Iliaska Lodge when I worked there, and then I re-read it again when I flew for Wings Airways in Juneau. I think it's a great read and I'd recommend it to anyone that wants to do off-airport flying in Alaska.
    My only point to this guy was that to get a job, you have to ask for a job. Send resume's out to Alaska Operators and then follow up a week later. If you can get there personally, do it that way. Nobody's too busy in January and February. If you can't get there in person follow up with a phone call.
    Flyalaska.com I think cost $10 a year to join and it's got a huge amount of information on lodges and air taxi operators. What they want and how they hire, plus job listings in Alaska.

Quote Originally Posted by Grizzly 1 View Post