Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please Help!

Default Please Help!

Hello to everyone!

I'm a soldier who is anxiously awaiting my return to Fort Richardson from Afghanistan. I've been stationed in AK for two years now, and I like it so much that I decided to re-enlist just to stay. I can't wait to get back and start the summer fishing season. I have also been researching hunting both large and small game in Alaska. My intentions for starting this thread are to gain information about hunting in Unit 14C, which comprises the Anchorage/Eagle river area, as well as the Fort Richardson area. Alaska is so big, and there are so many different management areas each with it's own specific regs, that I am finding it very confusing to figure out what I can and can't hunt in the areas close to where I live. Not to mention what means I can use to hunt. I mainly want to stick close to Fort Rich, and am interested in small game, predators, and black bear hunting. Possibly moose hunting as when the season rolls around as well.

If anyone would like to share their hunting experiances with me, and give me some advice as how to get started hunting in the areas around me, I would greatly appreciate it. Has anyone had any luck hunting the arctic valley area for cayotes, and small game? What about bear? Is the eagle river management area a good place to start?

I plan on getting more info about all of this as soon as I get back because I think I can catch the tail end of the hunting season. I am just trying to learn everything I can before I get there.

Thanks for you responses!

The first thing you should do is download the hunting regs on the AF&G website. They can be intimidating at first, but read them closely and you will find out what you want to know.