Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .338 Deer gun?

Default .338 Deer gun?

This upcoming spring will be my first real hunting season up here in Alaska. I picked up a .338 from a guy this fall with the intent of spring black bear hunting, but was wondering how it'd do on smaller game (deer, wolf, etc) using lighter bullets. If I cut down to 160gr bullets (the smallest I've found), will it tear up as much meat as the heavier rounds will?

I used a .375 H&H on deer a couple years ago, 250 grain Kodiak bullets, just went through. Personally, I'd use a heavier bullet like 200 but I am not an expert. I'm not sure which bullet you found but I would be a bit leary of a 160 grain bullet in that caliber. Will it hold up at thsoe velocities?

A friend shoots everything from blacktails to brown bear and moose with the same gun, same load: 225 grain Barnes X. No more meat damage on the deer than my 7x57 with 140 Noslers, and just as dead.

Default .338 for deer

If you use those small bullets, you will lose a lot of meat. I have taken blacktails with my .338 using 250 grain Noslers and they are deadly, but punch right through with minimum meat damage. I have never had a deer do anything but fall down dead when hit with one of these, and I have seen others shooting 200 grain and smaller bullet basically just blow deer up. Stick with the bullets this gun was designed for, and you will really love the results. Good hunting.
    Now just why in the hell do I have to press "1" for English???

Default Blacktails and bears

One benefit to shooting the proper bullets in a .338 for blacktails is this; Where there are deer, there are brown bears. 160's up the spout are not what you would want if you are confronted by one. And that "if" is a very real possibility.......