Thread: Power Auger Fun

Default Power Auger Fun

I am relatively new to the Icefishing game, having never seen ice thick enough to walk upon until moving here a few years ago. But i get a heck of a kick out of ice fishing even by myself and when other say I'm crazy to be out its so cold.

Until recently I had only a little 6" hand auger to drill my holes with, and that gets tiresome when you have more than about 8" of ice to drill through. So I was thinking about investing in a power auger when my boss says "O you don't need to buy one I have an extra you can borrow for as long as you like". So I go to the shop on a Saturday and play with it a little and pretty soon she fires right up and I think" Hey I'm in business now". Funny thing is he tells me that he got this bad boy second hand back in 1980, quite a bit before I was even born, and it is a beast.

It is an Ardis Quick Digger and it looks like something straight out of a 1950 Sears catalog, its huge, weighs an easy 40lbs maybe more. And it is a 4 stroke, The even stranger part is everything about it seems to be left handed. The auger turns to the left, the throttle is on the left, and the pull rope seems to be on the wrong side for a right handed user. And brother let me tell you when you fire it up you know its running, darn thing sounds like a drag car out there, and no it doesn't have a muffler.