Thread: New to Forum and Looking for Advice

Default New to Forum and Looking for Advice

Hello

I am new to your forum so would like to introduce myself. My name is Kevin and I live in Northern British Columbia. I am a recreational private pilot who owns and flies a C170-B.

I have a question regarding removing frost from wings. I currently tie down outside and do not have access to a hangar. I have noticed that when I remove my wing covers, I still have a fair bit of frost on my wings. I would like to ask the group here what each of you do to remove frost from your flying surfaces.

I currently preheat using a Red Dragon heater. I was thinking that an easy way to defrost the wings might be to open up some inspection plates and direct some the the hot air up into the wings? I am wondering if this would work and what some of the negative sides of doing this might be?

All opinions welcome

Thank You

Kevin

Get some wing covers.
    I use a Red Dragon as well, but those things really put out some heat and your fuel tanks are inside those wings.....!!!!

I have used extra long metallic hose section, a broom and a ladder to help loosen frost from metal wings. From the outside...

Please don't blow up your C170.
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

Frost under the wing covers? I don't worry about it unless there's a rough buildup. Yesterday I took off with crusty snow on the fuselage and light frost on the wings and tail where the covers had condensed and re-frozen some light vapor. No problems. In fact if you fly a while and land in temps just below freezing you'll notice a little frost will form on the wings as the plane sits. Again, no problem. If you're concerned with how much is too much? Grab an old-timer pilot you trust, show him your wings, and ask him for his opinion. That's the best way for new guys to learn.