Thread: Ice fishing on Crutches

Default Ice fishing on Crutches

I am an absolute die hard ice fisher. I have been doing it since I was 4 years old. I am back in alaska after having surgery on Monday and am wanting to get out and do some ice fishing. Now, my dad and I were trying to think of lakes that we could drive out on to and just get out ice fishing. Big lake seems to be the only option so far. We do not have machines at the moment and I probably could not ride right now anyways. We just have a 4WD Bronco and thats it. Any help would be appreciated!

And to anyone I left wondering. I hurt my leg in my first match of this college wrestling season. Had a complete ACL replacement.... Recovery is expected to be roughly 6 - 8 months.... No telling how long ill be on crutches just yet. There is always next season!

Sounds like you should give ice fishing ,you know slippery ice ,,,maybe a break for a while.,,lol,,,or just be real frikkin careful. Should be able to drive out on Big Lake now.

Default If you can drive out on a lake...

... I've seen plenty of people fish out of their truck windows. Or if you get out there, maybe you could fish out an old wheel chair. Just get your dad to shovel you a path and there you go.

I guess that could work. Ive just always pulled a sled with all my gear out on the ice and fished unpopulated lakes. I might have to give big lake a try... I have ice picks on my crutches and boots with studs in them so ide be all set. Plus we have a shack and plenty of chairs to sit in. Thanks for the tips there everyone!

Oh and dan ive givin ice fishing a good long break aleady! I feel good enough to go ice fishing for sure.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time