Thread: Any Dillingham folks?

Default Any Dillingham folks?

We have lived in Alaska for over a year (second winter) and have been to many of the areas on the road system. We just don't think that is for us. We have lived off grid in the Rockies in our little cabin we built at 8500ft and loved that life. We however do want some sort of town with a library and a decent cup of coffee when we do come in from the woods.
    We currently live outside of Homer and it is just like every other town to us. We have looked at Nikiski and Seward, Cooper Landing and Hope and spent some time in each. Not really what we are all about. We also didn't want to isolate us completely from the outside as we are thinking of little ones. I'm 35 and my wife is 30. I'm a solar/wind engineer/installer and we don't want the 9to5 lifestyle which we have somehow slipped back into. I'd prefer to work on a project or two every year and my wife has a pretty good little internet business that she can run with only a couple of hours a week online.
    That being said, any ideas? Outside of Dillingham has our interest... anyone care to comment?

Thanks,

Mountaintrekker

Quote Originally Posted by Mountaintrekker View Post
    We have lived in Alaska for over a year (second winter) and have been to many of the areas on the road system. We just don't think that is for us. We have lived off grid in the Rockies in our little cabin we built at 8500ft and loved that life. We however do want some sort of town with a library and a decent cup of coffee when we do come in from the woods.