Thread: Winter fly tying.

Default Winter fly tying.

How many of you are tying flies to pass the time until we can hit the rivers? Here in MN fly fishing stops for the most part unless you want to target 10" trout. I have most of my flies tied up for my trip to AK this summer. I am new to tying but its been a lot of fun. Next its time to tie up my Halibut rigs. My question is what are your favorite colors for sockeye on the Kenai and the Russian?

kg, there is winter steelies no far from you!!!

I've started some tying. Working on bows and trying to get my ice auger tuned up is taking up most of my spare time right now.

My favorite flies for reds.............anything that is legal Dude reds are plankton eaters, so they dont bite. Most salmon really slow down when they hit fresh water. Reds on the other hand never do bite, whether in the salt or not, unless your pullin dollys through spawning reds
    I am not against the flippin kenai, since I cannot but suspect it keeps armies of the unworthy from discovering every other stream... ~Paul O'Neil~/~Wyo2AK~

Well I won't say that reds never bite... as I think holding, unpressured fish can be convinced to grab a fly from time to time... but it really doesn't matter for lining reds on the Kenai or Russian.

I'd say my favorite color for flipping is green. Just because. I like green.

Sometimes when fishing the upper Russian for reds with my 5 wt I'll go with smaller (size 8, for example) orange flies and pick up a bonus rainbow or two.
    Pursue happiness with diligence.

I've had reds hammer stuff...including the jumbo spin and glows...**** near ripped the rod of out my hands. to say I was suprised it was a red and not a king was an understatement!

Tradbow